My Coconut Oil Obsession

Anything coconut I probably have or want.  I love everything about it; the smell, taste, & feel.

The best thing about it, it’s good for me!  Coconut is full of medium chain triglycerides which are good fats needed to support the brain, hormones, metabolism, and many other important functions in the body. Many people think because it is a saturated fat it is bad for you, NO NO NO! It is such a misconception that saturated fat is bad for you! In actuality, it contains lauric acid that prevents high blood pressure and high cholesterol levels.

So here begins my obsession…

Barleans Coconut oil

This is my most used coconut product! First thing out of the shower, I use it as a full body moisturizer and I oil pull with it while I’m getting dressed.  Secondly, at night, I use it as my makeup remover.  It instantly melts the makeup off, I barely have to rub like you would with all those other makeup removers.  It also works as a great hair strengthener.  I liberally soak my hair with it and let it sit for about an hour and then take my shower.  Your hair will thank you if you do this!  Another use for this stuff is add it to your coffee.  Yes, your coffee.  It adds a good fat so you get a stable release of energy, rather than a quick burst of caffeine and it tastes great!

IMG_0262[1]

 

Coconut lotion by Kiss My Face

This is a great moisturizer!  If you don’t like the oily feeling of just putting straight coconut oil, here is the next best thing. It applies wonderfully! I love putting this on after being in the sun all day. (Excuse the wear & tare..)

 

IMG_0263[1]

 

Nanaks Coconut Lip Smoothee

My favorite little travel buddy! I bring this with me EVERYWHERE.  It covers so well and smells absolutely amazing! Best chap stick I’ve used.  Burt’s Bees used to be my favorite like I wouldn’t use any others and now this has replaced it.

 

IMG_1756

Harvest Bay Coconut Water

Mmmm. Best hydrator ever. I’d say it’s better than water because it contains electrolytes and replenishes your body.

IMG_1749[2]

So Delicious Coconut Almond Ice Cream Bars

Here’s a wonderful summertime treat!  I am a crazy about ice cream, it literally may be my other obsession…This tastes so good! The mix of coconut milk ice cream, dark chocolate, and almonds is perfection on a hot summer day.

IMG_1751

Barlean’s Flax- Chia-Coconut

Here is a great source of omega 3s, protein, & fiber all in one.   I add this to my morning smoothies, oatmeal, and yogurt to give it that extra punch.

IMG_1754

Bob’s Red Mill Coconut Flour 

I just bought this the other day and experimented it.  At first, I was scared the dessert I was making was going to turn out dry and crumbly because the batter was not really batter but very thick, even though I added extra eggs (coconut flour is NOT equal to regular white flour, it’s very absorbent).  However, once I tried it, it was amazing! It was so moist and flavorful.  Here’s the recipe I used Frosted Banana Cake except I replaced it with coconut flour and added 4 extra eggs.

IMG_1753

Laughing Giraffee Organics Vanilla Almond Snakaroons

I was shopping at TJ Maxx and always love checking out their food section because most of it is organic.  I came upon these and though hmm they look pretty good and boy they are great!  It’s pretty much big chunks of coconut with a little vanilla and almond.  I have to hide them now since my sisters got a taste too!

IMG_1752

So Delicious Coconut Milk Creamer

I’m a coffee lover.  But I hate all the fake creamers, they make me sick.  I usually drink my coffee with just cinnamon and coconut oil but sometimes I like to add a little flavor especially if I’m drinking it iced.  I decided why not try this?  I love it now!

IMG_1755

Hopefully you enjoyed reading this post and now become a coconut fan yourself!

 

Health & Happiness to you!

 

 

Leave a Reply

