Traditions

Sept 12th: Tell us about a favorite tradition. It could be a family tradition or from a holiday, university, you-name-it. What makes it so special?

9.12.14 Blog-tember Challenge

I’m really trying to think of a tradition my family has but nothing is coming to me.  I guess the closest thing to tradition is when we were little and had our church Christmas programs.

Starting in kindergarten at our church, we were part of the Christmas program. We’d have to get up in front and say our little parts ( I always remember being a nervous wreck) and singing beautiful Christmas hymns.  My favorite part was singing Joy to the World as we walked out.  You could just sense the cheer in the air.  It could also have been because I knew I was done and made it through.  After that we’d go home, get the cookies and milk and note for Santa all ready.  Mom and dad would tuck us in and boy were we restless.  I sure do miss those days of imagination and such excitement.

After my parents divorced it wasn’t the same.  Every other year it changes who were with.  Therefore, there isn’t much tradition anymore.

I hope one day when I have a family I can great a tradition that will be passed down to my grandkids.

What is a tradition you have?

Leave a Reply

