Texas or Bust

9.18.14 Blog-Tember Challenge

Sept 18th: Tell a tale of traveling, a city or country you’ve been to or a favorite vacation.

As a kid, I was blessed to have been on so many family vacations.  We not only went up north to Shawano Lake for weeks but to Colorado, Maine, Florida, Tennessee, Texas, and Wyoming.  My sisters and I have almost been in every state because all these trips on the road.

em me dylan memorial day 98

I actually found a picture from when I was little! Pictured above is me, Dylan, and Emily getting ready to go boating! The summers up at Shawano Lake are pretty unforgettable.  We stayed at my aunt and uncles cabin that was only like 500 feet from the beach.  Our days consisted of laying on the beach, hanging out at the sandbars, tubing, and playing on the playground.

One vacation that sticks out is when my dad, sisters, and I took a road trip to Texas to visit some family.  We rented a 12 seater van with my grandma, cousins, and aunt and uncle. It was so much fun with all of us together.  On the way, we stopped at Mt. Rushmore.

mount-rushmore-47432_640

 

I remember we had to take a pit stop in New Mexico at a a little rest area.  Well the bathrooms were nasty and there were snakes.  My aunt freaked out! She came running back to the van screaming.  We arrived to Texas in one piece and had a wonderful time staying with my other aunt and uncle.

sign-44394_640

 

 

Although that had to end, we packed up and were on our way home.  On the way home, we stopped in St. Louis, Missouri to check out the Gateway Arch.  We went up it in this little egg shaped thing.  I’m still shocked I went up it.  If I went there today, I definitely would not be going up in that little thing.  While we were at top, the whole walkway swayed.  I thought I was going to have a panic attack!

st-louis-arch-409614_640

 

Well I made it back down and was okay. After about another 10 hours, we made it home!  It was such a fun vacation with lifetime memories 🙂

 

What is your favorite vacation? 

Leave a Reply

